Minutes of the Campus Faculty Meeting
November 9 , 2004, 3:00 p.m.
Giffels Auditorium

Deborah Thomas, Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved

I. Call to Order:

Deborah Thomas, Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:01.

II. Approval of the Agenda

Without objection, the agenda was approved.

III. Minutes of the Spring 2004 Meeting

Without objection, the minutes of the Spring 2004 meeting were approved.

IV. Reports

A. Bob Smith

Provost Smith introduced and welcomed Attorney General Mike Bebee to the Fayetteville campus.

B. Report Attorney General Mike Beebe

Attorney General Mike Beebe began by introducing Percy Malone, a member of the state legislature from Arkadelphia, as one of his guests. Mr. Malone is very involved in the state budgetary process.

Attorney General Beebe focused his talk on the three components of education he feels are vital to Arkansas:

1) a Pre-K program - such a program is particularly vital for at-risk kids,
2) a K-12 program,
3) Higher Education.

He believes that education is a continuous effort from Pre-K to Higher Education that includes both traditional and non-traditional students.

To continue to support funding for Higher Education, faculty must not assume that all is well. Instead, faculty must work together to influence the state legislature to continue to fund Higher Education. A proactive stance, innovation and creativity are necessary to influence the legislature for the good of all educational levels in our state. More cooperation is also needed among the different campuses in Arkansas.

Attorney General Beebe also suggested that the North Carolina model of education, which demonstrates cooperation between K-12 and Higher Education, is one we should examine more closely.

V. Old Business


VI. New Business

A. Motion from the Faculty Senate to add Men's and Women's Athletics Directors to the Faculty Senate as ex officio, non-voting members, as follows:



B. Membership

3. The Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, the dean of each college or school (including the Graduate School and Continuing Education), the dean (or director) of University libraries, and the directors of women’s and men’s intercollegiate athletics, shall be non-voting members of the Faculty Senate. This provision does not preclude any dean or director from election as a voting representative pursuant to paragraphs 4-8 below.

Motion passed.

VII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 3:35 p.m.