Minutes of the Special Campus Faculty Meeting
December 2 , 2003, 3:30 p.m.
Giffels Auditorium, Old Main

Tom Jensen , Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved

I. Call to Order:

Tom Jensen, Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:35.

II. Discussion - "Faculty authority in establishing and maintaining academic standards at the University of Arkansas."

A motion was put forth that the Campus Faculty adopt the following resolution and communicate this action to Provost Robert Smith, Chancellor John E.White, President B. Alan Sugg, Members of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees, and Governor Mike Huckabee.


On Friday, 14 November 2003, the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas voted to establish an administrative review process whereby exceptions to the transfer of credit policy of the Fayetteville campus and other campuses of the University of Arkansas system may be approved by a single individual. The Board's directive was based on a request from the men's Athletic department, a non-academic unit of the University. The mandate allows "D" grades to be transferred to the University of Arkansas and to apply towards degree credit. The Board's action was taken in opposition to the advice and consent of the Fayetteville Campus Faculty and has the effect of lowering standards for all degree programs offered at the Fayetteville campus. The action reverses a long-standing Board policy whereby the primary responsibility for decisions on academic matters is vested in the Faculty.


WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees has arrogated responsibility for academic standards, an area in which it lacks competence and expertise; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees has acted in contravention of established principles of academic governance and in a manner contrary to the best interests of the University of Arkansas by unilaterally adopting system-wide academic standards; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees values athletic programs at the expense of academic programs; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees has violated the trust and confidence associated with its appointment and position.

THEREFORE, be it resolved that the Fayetteville Campus Faculty expresses NO CONFIDENCE in the Board of Trustees of the University of Arkansas.

The motion passed.

III. Announcements

Tom Jensen announced the following:

Faculty Holiday reception, December 11th from 6:00 to 8:00, Radisson Hotel.

Regular meeting of Campus Faculty - December 9, 3:30, Giffels Auditorium. Dr. Ed Franklin to speak.

IV. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 4:10 p.m.